a film photoblog

Fallout Shelter – Battery Bank

Fallout Shelter — Battery Bank. (Fuji Neopan 400. Nikon F100. Noritsu Koki.)

View Large

The above image is of a battery bank. It’s one of the many sources of power for my father’s fallout shelter. (For background, click here.) A few summers ago, my father discovered that many of the batteries were corroding and needed to be replaced. So he bought fifty new batteries (at fifty pounds each) and he and I lugged them into the shelter to hook them up to the bank. The math: 50 batteries x 50 lb. = 2.25 tons. Yeah, it was a very long day.

8 responses

  1. James Gahl

    sounds like a lot of work, which brings up the issue of whether or not your dad really wants to use that shelter someday. i know, that seems like an odd question, but if you never had to use it, seems like a lot of time and energy wasted. thoughts?

    October 3, 2010 at 5:00 AM

    • IMHO it is like with an insurance:
      You pay for it to be on the safe side, but on the other hand you hope you will never actually need it.
      Of course, one could argue that’s money been wasted, but IF one needed it some day, one would be glad.

      October 3, 2010 at 10:43 AM

      • That’s pretty much my father’s thinking on the whole thing. Of course, he really does think the shelter will be used in his lifetime – in some capacity. Any of several scenarios – economic collapse, nuclear war, and so on – are continually bouncing around inside his head.

        To more directly answer your question, James, there are times when I wonder what he’s thinking. Sometimes he seems giddy about the whole thing, as though he knows something the rest of us don’t. I think he’s just glad to be so prepared.

        October 4, 2010 at 3:53 AM

  2. I know who to call when I need my car jumped!

    You see beautifully in black and white. Always an inspiration to me.

    October 3, 2010 at 2:04 PM

  3. That was some workout.

    October 3, 2010 at 5:55 PM

    • Well, to be fair, I did use a skateboard to get them down the tunnel that leads to the power room. (Bent double, I would have otherwise had to scoot the batteries along and risk a torn muscle in my back.) But I did carry them most of the way into the shelter.

      October 4, 2010 at 3:57 AM

  4. I’m enjoying your Fallout Shelter series. Perhaps more detailed photos of the interior?

    October 4, 2010 at 1:54 AM

    • It’s actually pretty cramped in there. I got the shots that were both practical and appropriate to my visual tastes. (Sometimes I take photos of less obvious things in order to better illustrate a point.)

      October 4, 2010 at 3:59 AM

Leave a Reply

